News

Additional pre-season fixture announced plus Second XI fixtures revealed

Somerset County Cricket Club can today announce that we will be playing an additional pre-season match later this month.

We will welcome Worcestershire to The Cooper Associates County Ground for a two-day match, starting on March 18th.

Following the announcement of the fixture, Somerset CCC Director of Cricket, Andy Hurry said: “When it became apparent that we would be unable to facilitate the Combined National Counties fixture, we made it clear that we would be looking to schedule an alternative pre-season game.

“It is important that the players experience competitive matches against quality opposition in the build up to the start of the new season and I would like to thank Worcestershire County Cricket Club for agreeing to be our opposition over the course of the two days. I am sure that it is a fixture that will be beneficial to both sets of players and coaches.”

We are now also able to reveal this season’s Second XI fixtures.

Somerset will begin their Second XI Championship campaign with a match against Glamorgan at Taunton Vale on Tuesday April 6th.

This will be followed six days later by a trip to Portland Road to take on Warwickshire.

The Second XI T20 competition will begin with an away match against Worcestershire on May 31st.

Here is the fixture list in full:

DATE HOME AWAY VENUE START COMP.
Tue 06 April Somerset Glamorgan Taunton Vale 11:00 SEC
Mon 12 April Warwickshire Somerset Portland Road 11:00 SEC
Mon 19 April Somerset Worcestershire Taunton Vale 11:00 SEC
Mon 03 May Somerset Gloucestershire Taunton Vale 11:00 SEC
Mon 10 May Middlesex Somerset Radlett CC 11:00 SEC
Wed 19 May Somerset Cardiff UCCE Taunton Vale 11:30 SEF T20 x2
Mon 31 May Worcestershire Somerset Barnt Green CC 13:00 SET20
Tue 01 June Glamorgan Somerset 11:30 SET20
Thu 03 June Gloucestershire Somerset Rockhampton CC 12:00 SET20
Fri 04 June Somerset Warwickshire Taunton Vale 11:00 SET20
Mon 07 June Somerset Gloucestershire Taunton Vale 12:00 SET20
Tue 08 June Somerset Glamorgan Taunton Vale 12:30 SET20
Thu 10 June Somerset Worcestershire Taunton Vale 13:00 SET20
Tue 15 June Warwickshire Somerset Moseley CC 14:00 SET20
Wed 16 June Northamptonshire Somerset 11:00 SET20
Fri 18 June Somerset Northamptonshire Taunton Vale 11:00 SET20
Fri 18 June Somerset Northamptonshire Taunton Vale 15:00 SEF1
Thu 24 June Arundel 10:30 SET20 semi-final
Thu 24 June Arundel 13:45 SET20 semi-final
Thu 24 June Arundel 17:00 SET20 final
Mon 28 June Somerset Surrey Taunton Vale 11:00 SEC
Mon 05 July Somerset Cornwall Taunton Vale 11:00 SEF1
Mon 23 August Somerset Essex Taunton Vale 11:00 SEC
Mon 06 September Northamptonshire Somerset Campbell Park, Milton Keynes 10:30 SEC
Tue 14 September Hampshire Somerset Ageas Bowl 10:30 SEC

Please note that Taunton Vale Sports Club will be closed to spectators for Somerset’s Second XI fixtures until further notice.

Back to News

Next MatchLancashire V Somerset

11/07/2022 11:00 - Southport