Forty-one players sign full-time domestic contracts

Sophie Luff, Fi Morris, Dani Gibson, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy and Nat Wraith were amongst those celebrating today after the eight teams within the new women’s Regional set-up confirmed their allocation of professional players.

The announcement means that 41 female cricketers have now signed full-time domestic contracts.

In June of this year 25 players signed regional retainers. A further 16 players have now been added to the list of contracted professionals and confirms that all 41 have progressed on to full-time terms.

The recruitment process was driven by the eight regions and their respective Regional Directors of Women’s Cricket.

Following the announcement, Regional Director of Women’s Cricket, Lisa Pagett said: “I’m really proud to be able to award not five, but six full-time professional contracts to Storm players in this highly exciting new chapter. All of the players thoroughly deserve their contracts, and the opportunity to train full time will go a very long way to ensuring that this group of players have every chance of fulfilling their potential.

“We are extremely lucky that we have so many partners who want to see Western Storm thrive, and I would like to extend a particularly big ‘thank you’ to Glamorgan County Cricket Club whose instrumental support has enabled us to award an additional sixth professional contract”

Western Storm Head Coach, Mark O’Leary is pleased to have secured the services of these six highly rated players. “It’s fantastic news for us,” he said. “It’s wonderful to have six fulltime professional cricketers flying the flag for Western Storm. They were outstanding for us this season and they thoroughly deserve these contracts. Their dedication and drive was there for all to see and I have no doubt that we will be seeing more of the same in 2021.”





Hollie Armitage

Georgie Boyce

Evelyn Jones

Kathryn Bryce

Beth Langston

Alex Hartley

Marie Kelly

Sarah Bryce

Linsey Smith

Emma Lamb

Issy Wong

Beth Ellis

Phoebe Graham

Ellie Threlkeld

Emily Arlott

Lucy Higham

Jenny Gunn

Hannah Jones

Gwenan Davies

Abbey Freeborn





Dani Gibson

Georgia Adams

Alice Davidson-Richards

Naomi Dattani

Sophie Luff

Tara Norris

Sophia Dunkley

Cordelia Griffith

Fi Morris

Paige Scholfield

Tash Farrant

Amara Carr

Georgia Hennessy

Lauren Bell

Bryony Smith

Jo Gardner

Nat Wraith

Maia Bouchier

Aylish Cranstone

Kelly Castle

Alex Griffiths

ECB Managing Director of Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “We’re delighted that these 41 young women are able to call themselves full-time professional cricketers and we wish them every success.

“The introduction of these 41 professional players, in addition to our 17 Centrally Contracted England Women’s players is the most significant step forward for the women’s game in recent years.

“In terms of the health of women’s cricket in England and Wales, we cannot overestimate the importance of these 41 players having the opportunity to train and work on their skills full-time, with access to high quality coaching and facilities across the eight regions.

“Today’s news is not only wonderful for the players themselves, it represents a step change for our whole domestic game and for young girls who will now be able to see more opportunity and aspiration in front of them.

“When you add in the profile opportunity of The Hundred next year, the landscape looks even more exciting. After a challenging year in the wake of the pandemic, I’m really pleased with the progress we’ve made in 2020, just one year after launching our action plan to transform women’s and girls’ cricket.”

*Sixth contract funded by Western Storm and Glamorgan CCC

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground