Somerset v Gloucestershire: One month until Blast off!

There is now just one month to go until the 2018 Vitality Blast gets underway!

Somerset begin our campaign against local rivals Gloucestershire at the Cooper Associates County Ground on Friday July 6th.

There are less than 550 tickets left for this match so if you haven’t booked yours yet, do it now!

Tickets can be purchased by clicking here

To get you in the mood we thought we would take a look back at some of our classic T20 encounters with the old enemy.

The two sides have met on 28 occasions in the shortest format of the game and Somerset currently hold the bragging rights having won 12 times to Gloucestershire’s 10. Four matches have been abandoned and there have been two no-results.


2005 saw Somerset win the Twenty 20 Cup and on the way to lifting the trophy the team from Taunton enjoyed a big win over their biggest rivals.

After being put in by visiting captain Mark Alleyne, Somerset made 228 for five thanks to 53 from just 38 balls from Graeme Smith. Ian Blackwell also caught the eye with a rapid 45.

In reply Gloucestershire were all out for 133 as Somerset won by 95 runs. Gareth Andrew was the pick of the Somerset bowlers, taking four for 22 whilst Keith Parsons claimed three for 12.


Defending Champions Somerset welcomed Gloucestershire to a packed County Ground on June 27th 2006 and it is a day that Somerset supporters will never forget!

John Lewis won the toss and asked the hosts to bat. That was as good as the day got for the visitors as Somerset set a number of new competition records.

Justin Langer and Matt Wood put on 52 for the first wicket. Wood was the man to fall for 34 from 19 balls.

Langer was then joined at the crease by Cameron White and the two Australian batsmen shared a record partnership of 186. Langer eventually fell for 90 from 46 balls whilst his compatriot finished on a stunning 116 not out as Somerset set a new record total of 250 for three from their 20 overs.

Four wickets from Charl Willoughby then helped to bowl Gloucestershire out for just 133 as Somerset won by 117 runs.


Craig Kieswetter and Peter Trego inspired Somerset to a three-wicket win at Bristol in 2009.

Justin Langer won the toss and elected to field.

Three wickets from Alfonso Thomas and two each for Mark Turner and Arul Suppiah helped to limit the hosts to 173 all out from 19.3 overs.

In reply Somerset found themselves on 23 for four but a quick-fire 49 from Trego and 84 from 42 balls from Kieswetter helped Somerset to reach the required total with six balls to spare as Somerset won by three wickets.


After winning the toss Gloucestershire captain Alex Gidman elected to bat and his side made 199 for eight from their allotted overs in front of a packed house in Taunton. Steve Snell top scored for the visitors with 50 from 26 balls whilst Ben Phillips took three for 33. Alfonso Thomas also claimed three wickets.

Somerset slipped to 56 for three but then Zander de Bruyn and Kieron Pollard began to blast the ball to all areas of the ground. The pair took the score to 162 before Pollard fell for 54 off 25 balls. De Bruyn remained at the crease and was unbeaten on 95 as Somerset reached their target for the loss of four wickets with seven balls remaining.


Somerset welcomed their closest rivals to Taunton on July 8th 2011 and it was yet another thrilling encounter between the two sides.

Gloucestershire’s Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to field.

Somerset lost three early wickets but a stunning innings of 72 not out from just 45 balls from Jos Buttler ensured that the home side posted a total of 170 for four from their 20 overs.

The visitors made a solid start and when Hamish Marshall reached his half century the Somerset supporters feared the worst. However, three quick wickets for Kieran Pollard meant that the visitors slumped from 95 for two to 155 for nine at the end of the 20th over as Somerset won by 15 runs.


Somerset did the double over Gloucestershire in 2013 and Craig Kieswetter played a starring role in both fixtures.

The match at Taunton went right down to the wire.

Michael Klinger won the toss and elected to bat first.

Ian Cockbain top scored with 63 and Hamish Marshall made 49 as the visitors posted a total of 190 for six from their 20 overs. Yasir Arafat and Steve Kirby both took two wickets for Somerset.

Despite losing Marcus Trescothick to the first ball of the innings, Kieswetter played superbly. Wickets fell around him but he inspired Somerset to a dramatic four wicket win. He smashed his way to 89 not out from 55 balls as Somerset reached their target with just one ball to spare.

When the two sides met at Bristol it was the visitors who dominated from start to finish.

Alfonso Thomas won the toss and elected to bowl first.

The Somerset skipper then claimed four for 35 as Gloucestershire were dismissed for just 125.

Somerset openers Kieswetter and Chris Jones shared a century stand as Somerset comprehensively won by nine wickets. Kieswetter once again top scored with 61 whilst Jones remained unbeaten on 53.

Will Somerset come out on top again this year? We will find out on July 6th.

Make sure you don’t miss out. Get your tickets now!

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground