Previous Lord's Final victories

Somerset will be looking to make history next week.

The team from the Cooper Associates County Ground will face Essex at Lord’s in the first ever five-day Bob Willis Trophy Final.

Known as “The Home of Cricket”, Lord’s has many happy memories for Somerset Members and supporters.

Today we are taking a look back at our previous final victories at cricket’s most famous venue.


Having lost out in the final of the Gillette Cup to Kent in 1967 and Sussex in 1978, Somerset were determined to go all the way in 1979 and they did just that!

Northamptonshire were the opponents at Lord’s on September 8th and after losing the toss Somerset captain Brian Rose was asked to bat.

Viv Richards helped himself to 117 from 136 balls and Rose added 41 as Somerset posted a total of 269 for eight from their 60 overs.

Allan Lamb made 78 for Northants but his teammates were simply blown away by Joel Garner who claimed six for 29 from 10.3 overs as Somerset dismissed their opponents for 224 in 56.3 overs to win by 45 runs and claim the silverware.


On July 25th Somerset took on Surrey at Lord’s in the final of the 55-over Benson & Hedges Cup.

After winning the toss Brian Rose elected to field. Once again Garner terrorised the opposition, taking five for 14 from 11 overs as Surrey reached 194 for eight from their 55 overs. Roger Knight was the only batsman who offered any resistance, making 92.

Requiring 195 for victory, Somerset found themselves on five for two but then Viv Richards played one of his finest innings for the County. The West Indian maestro played superbly on his way to making 132 not out as his side reached their target off 44.3 overs to win by seven wickets.


Somerset were back at Lord’s for the final of the Benson & Hedges Cup just 12 months later to face Nottinghamshire.

Brian Rose once again won the toss and elected to have a bowl.

The Somerset bowlers again dominated their opponents as Joel Garner (three for 13), Ian Botham (two for 19), Vic Marks (two for 24) and Colin Dredge (two for 35) restricted Notts to 130 all out from 50.1 overs.

Peter Denning fell for 22 but Peter Roebuck (53 not out) and Viv Richards (51 not out) steered Somerset to a nine wicket victory.


Kent stood in the way of Somerset winning their third List A trophy in as many years when the two sides met at Lord’s in the final of the 60-over NatWest Trophy on September 3rd.

Kent won the toss and chose to put Somerset in.

Viv Richards top scored with 51 as Somerset made 193 for nine. Graham Dilley was the pick of the Kent attack as he took four for 29.

The Kent reply was strangled by the accuracy of the Somerset bowlers and they were eventually all out for 169 as Somerset triumphed by 24 runs. Vic Marks took the Man of the Match award after taking three for 30 whilst there were two wickets each for Joel Garner, Ian Botham and Colin Dredge.


Somerset had to wait until 2001 for another appearance in a List A final but those present at Lord’s on September 1st for the C&G Trophy final may argue that it was worth the wait.

The opponents on the day were Leicestershire and after winning the toss Somerset elected to bat.

Keith Parsons (60 not out), Jamie Cox (44) and Peter Bowler (42) helped to ensure that Somerset posted a total of 271 for five from their 50 overs.

Trevor Ward (54) and Darren Maddy (49) helped Leicestershire to make a solid start but once those two were back in the pavilion the Somerset bowlers took control.

Three wickets from Steffan Jones helped to dismiss Leicestershire for 230 as Somerset won by 41 runs.


Somerset faced Hampshire in the final of the Royal London One-Day Cup last year.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Hampshire found themselves on 31 for two thanks to two quick wickets for Josh Davey.

Half centuries from Sam Northeast and James Fuller helped to get the innings back on track, but the Somerset bowlers were able to limit their opponents to 244 for eight from their 50 overs. Jamie Overton, who would later be named Man of the Match, claimed three for 48 whilst there were also two wickets for Tom Abell.

The Somerset reply got off to a sensational start with Tom Banton (69) and Azhar Ali (45) adding 112 for the first wicket.

It was then fitting that James Hildreth (69 not out) hit the winning runs, having achieved the same feat for Somerset’s last trophy win back in 2005.

The huge Somerset contingent in the crowd were in fine voice as Tom Abell lifted the trophy aloft at the end of a memorable day.

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground