Recognition for Scott and his team

There was recognition for SCCC Head Groundsperson, Scott Hawkins recently.

Scott was named runner up in the multi-day and one-day categories at the ECB Grounds Manager of the Year awards which were staged at the Uptonsteel County Ground in Leicester.

After receiving this recognition, Scott said: “I’m really happy with how the pitches have played this season, and to be recognised in this way is good for the groundstaff, the team and the Club. We’ve faced a number of challenges this year with staff turnover, the weather and Covid-19. We’ve risen to those challenges and the whole team should be really proud.

“We’ve had quite a few groundstaff this season and they have all worked incredibly hard, put in a lot of hours and dedicated a lot of time and effort. Every single one of them has played a huge part in this and it’s been a real team effort.

“Every year we work really hard to create the best possible pitches and this recognition gives us something to strive for again in 2022.”

Lancashire’s Matt Merchant won the ECB 3&4-Day Grounds Manager of the Year Award for the third time.

Kent’s Adrian Llong won the One-Day award for the pitches at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence in the same season the club were crowned Vitality Blast champions.

Cheltenham College’s Christian Brain won the Best Outground award.

ECB Pitch and Grounds Advisor, Andy Mackay, said: “The award winners fully deserve this recognition for the consistently outstanding pitches they have produced during the summer.

“This has been a challenging summer for all county ground staff beginning with the uncertainty of the pandemic heading into the season before a busy summer schedule.

“Every venue has met those challenges head on and delivered pitches and facilities that have enabled the players to showcase the best of the game to the fans who returned to attend cricket this summer.”

Simon Lee was also honoured with a Recognition Award for his First Test match pitch at The Ageas Bowl for England Men’s Test against West Indies in 2020.  That was Lee’s first season at the Hampshire venue after moving from Taunton.


Headquarters Grounds, 3&4-Day: Matt Merchant (Emirates Old Trafford).

Joint Runners-up: Scott Hawkins (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton), Neil Godrich (Incora County Ground, Derby). Commendations: Gary Barwell (Edgbaston), Ben Gibson (The 1st Central County Ground, Hove), Lee Fortis (Kia Oval).

Headquarters Grounds, One-Day: Adrian Llong (The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence).

Runner-up: Scott Hawkins (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton). Commendations: Gary Barwell (Edgbaston), Vic Demain (Emirates Riverside), Andy Ward (Uptonsteel County Ground, Grace Road), Karl McDermott (Lord’s).

Test Match Recognition Award: Simon Lee, The Ageas Bowl, England Men v West Indies, 2020.

Outgrounds: Christian Brain (Cheltenham College)

Commendation: Alex Kegg (Chester Boughton), Ben Harris (York).

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground