Royal London One-Day Cup: Our history in one-day cup competitions

Somerset will get our 2018 Royal London One-Day Cup campaign underway on Friday when we travel to the Kia Oval to take on Surrey.

Our first home game in the competition will be on Sunday when we welcome Glamorgan to the Cooper Associates County Ground. Tickets for this match are still available and can be purchased by clicking here

List A, or limited overs cricket, has been a successful format for Somerset over the years, with the County lifting a trophy on five occasions.

Although Somerset haven’t won a one-day trophy since 2001, we have still fared well in List A cricket having won 15 of our last 22 matches in the Royal London One Day Cup! We have also featured in 24 semi-finals and 11 finals.

Ahead of this years Royal London One-Day Cup we thought we would take a look back at our history in List A cup competitions.

First Match

Somerset’s first match in the one-day cup, which was called the Gillette Cup at the time, came on May 22nd 1963 when the team traveled to Cardiff Arms Park to take on Glamorgan in a 65-over match.

The home side won the toss and elected to bat,making 207 for eight from their allotted overs. Bernard Hedges made 103 whilst Fred Rumsey took four for 24 from 15 overs.

In reply, Somerset were all out for 197 despite a half century from Brian Langford as Glamorgan won by 10 runs

First Win

Somerset had to wait just over a year to play another one-day cup match and on this occasion the men from the West Country were successful.

On May 27th 1964 Somerset welcomed Nottinghamshire to Taunton in the 60-over Gillette Cup.

Somerset won the toss and elected to field.

Maurice Hill made 107 in the visitors total of 215 all out from 58.2 overs. Geoffrey Hall was the pick of the Somerset bowlers, claiming three for 55 whilst Ken Palmer, Bill Alley and Brian Langford all took two wickets.

69 from Graham Atkinson was the cornerstone of the Somerset innings as the home side fininshed on 215 for nine and won the match courtesy of having lost fewer wickets than their opponents.

Somerset eventually lost out to Sussex in the Quarter Final of the competition.


Having lost out in the final of the Gillette Cup to Kent in 1967 and Sussex in 1978, Somerset were determined to go all the way in 1979 and they did just that!

Northamptonshire were the opponents at Lord’s on September 8th and after losing the toss Somerset captain Brian Rose was asked to bat.

Viv Richards helped himself to 117 from 136 balls and Rose added 41 as Somerset posted a total of 269 for eight from their 60 overs.

Allan Lamb made 78 for Northants but his teammates were simply blown away by Joel Garner who claimed six for 29 from 10.3 overs as Someret dismissed their opponents for 224 in 56.3 overs to win by 45 runs and claim the silverware.


On July 25th Somerset took on Surrey at Lord’s in the final of the 55-over Benson & Hedges Cup.

After winning the toss Brian Rose elected to field. Once again Garner terrorised the opposition, taking five for 14 from 11 overs as Surrey reached 194 for eight from their 55 overs. Roger Knight was the only batsman who offered any resistance, making 92.

Requiring 195 for victory, Somerset found themselves on five for two but then Viv Richards played one of his finest innings for the County. The West Indian maestro played superbly on his way to making 132 not out as his side reached their target off 44.3 overs to win by seven wickets.


Somerset were back at Lord’s for the final of the Benson & Hedges Cup just 12 months later to face Nottinghamshire.

Brian Rose once again won the toss and elected to have a bowl.

The Somerset bowlers again dominated their opponents as Joel Garner (three for 13), Ian Botham (two for 19), Vic Marks (two for 24) and Colin Dredge (two for 35) restricted Notts to 130 all out from 50.1 overs.

Peter Denning fell for 22 but Peter Roebuck (53 not out) and Viv Richards (51 not out) steered Somerset to a nine wicket victory.


Kent stood in the way of Somerset winning their third List A trophy in as many years when the two sides met at Lord’s in the final of the 60-over NatWest Trophy on September 3rd.

Kent won the toss and chose to put Somerset in.

Viv Richards top scored with 51 as Somerset made 193 for nine. Graham Dilley was the pick of the Kent attack as he took four for 29.

The Kent reply was strangled by the accuracy of the Somerset bowlers and they were eventually all out for 169 as Somerset triumphed by 24 runs. Vic Marks took the Man of the Match award after taking three for 30 whilst there were two wickets each for Joel Garner, Ian Botham and Colin Dredge.


Somerset had to wait until 2001 for another appearance in a List A final but those present at Lord’s on September 1st for the C&G Trophy final may argue that it was worth the wait.

The opponents on the day were Leicestershire and after winning the toss Somerset elected to bat.

Keith Parsons (60 not out), Jamie Cox (44) and Peter Bowler (42) helped to ensure that Somerset posted a total of 271 for five from their 50 overs.

Trevor Ward (54) and Darren Maddy (49) helped Leicestershire to make a solid start but once they were dismissed the Somerset bowlers took control.

Three wickets from Steffan Jones helped to dismiss Leicestershire for 230 as Somerset won by 41 runs.

Can the Class of 2018 emulate the success of the great teams of the past and lift the Royal London One-Day Cup on June 30th?

We will find out soon as the road to Lord’s begins at the Kia Oval on Friday!

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground