Second XI T20: Double Delight For Somerset

Somerset Second XI are in T20 action when we play two games against Kent at Taunton Vale Sports Club.


Somerset won by seven wickets 

Scorecard & Videos

Kent won the toss and elected to bat.

Josh Davey struck early to remove Sean Dickson as the visitors slipped to two for one. Davey then took a catch off his own bowling to dismiss Grant Stewart for 14 at 30 for two. The Somerset bowlers then took control as Kent were reduced to 58 for seven.

25 from 20 balls for Jarred Lysaught towards the end of the innings gave the Kent score a degree of respectability but the visitors were eventually all out for 113 from 18.1 overs.

Davey was the pick of the bowlers, claiming three for 23 whilst there were two wickets each for Max Waller and Jack Brooks.

Somerset slipped to 32 for two but Steve Davies (48 from 34 balls) and George Bartlett (41 not out from 33 balls) ensured that the hosts eased to their target.


Somerset won by seven wickets 

Scorecard & Videos

Kent won the toss and elected to bat.

Sean Dickson and Marcus O’Riordan shared an opening stand of 86 before the latter was removed by Nathan Gilchrist for 44 from 35 balls.

Three quick wickets then fell as the visitors slipped to 98 for four.

Dickson and Jarred Lysaught took the score to 148 before Lysaught fell for 18.

When Dickson was out for 78 from 54 balls Kent were 156 for six.

The visitors eventually posted a total of 164 for six from their allotted overs.

Chasing 165 for victory, Somerset openers Eddie Byrom and Ben Green put on 98 for the first wicket. Green was the man to go for 42 from 30 balls.

Byrom went to 50 from 30 balls but Tom Abell was run out for five with the score on 127.

Byrom was eventually dismissed for an impressive 91 from 58 balls (nine fours and four sixes) with the score on 155 and it was left to George Bartlett and Steve Davies to take Somerset over the line and to victory by seven wickets with 13 balls to spare.

Second XI Head Coach, Greg Kennis has named the following squad: Eddie Byrom, Steve Davies, Tom Abell, George Bartlett, Tom Lammonby, Ben Green, Josh Davey, Ollie Sale, Tim Rouse, Nathan Gilchrist, Jack Brooks, Tim Groenewald, Max Waller and Charlie Reed.

Entry and parking is free at Taunton Vale.

Back to News

Sign up

Somerset County Cricket Club would like to keep in touch with you about Club News, Events and Ticketing by email. You can manage your preferences and/or unsubscribe at any time by clicking the Update Preferences and/or Unsubscribe link on one of our emails. For further details please see our Privacy Policy.

Please enter your first name

Please enter your last name

Please enter your email address

Please confirm below you’d like to receive emails from us:

I confirm I wish to receive Club News, Events and Ticketing by email from Somerset County Cricket Club. Please use the tick box to confirm you’d like to receive emails from Somerset County Cricket Club.

Oops! Seems something has gone wrong


Next MatchGloucestershire V Somerset

20/09/2020 13:00 - The Bristol County Ground

Official Partners