Unbeaten Bartlett sees Seconds to victory in Trophy

An impressive unbeaten 142 from George Bartlett, his best for the Seconds, and good knocks by Jim Allenby and Ryan Davies saw Somerset to a resounding eight wicket victory with 21 overs to spare over the Unicorns in the Second XI Trophy at Taunton Vale on Wednesday.

After winning the toss and batting first the Unicorns posted 265 for two off their 50 overs.

This total was based on an opening partnership of 184 between James Kettleborough and Sam Arthurton who hit 78 before he was caught by Jim Allenby off Max Waller in the 39th over.

Shortly afterwards new batsman Sam Kelsall was run out by Eddie Byrom for 2 after which Kettleborough and Ed Kilbee remained together until the end of the innings.

The opener remained unbeaten on 143 which came at a run a ball and included 14 fours and one 6, while Kilbee was not out 26.

Waller ended with 1 for 34 from his allocated 10 overs.

When Somerset replied openers Bartlett and Allenby added 63 before the captain was caught and bowled by Toby Bulcock for 48 which he scored off just 23 balls with 10 fours and one 6.

Bartlett was then joined by Davies at the start of the sixth over. The opener was in blistering form and the second wicket pairing added 177 together in 20 overs, before the wicket-keeper was out for 49 at a run a ball with seven fours.

Bartlett remained at the crease to see Somerset to an eight wicket victory with 21 overs to spare.

By the end of the game Bartlett was unbeaten on 142 which came off just 95 balls with 20 fours and five 6s, while Johann Myburgh was not out 14.

Afterwards skipper Jim Allenby said: “It was an amazing day the way that the boys played today and the rate we were going at we would probably got into the high 400s by the end of our overs if not more.

“It was a really professional performance and a really good day for the Second XI with more guys putting their hands up, just like it was in Surrey on Monday, so hugely impressive.”

The Somerset squad for this game is- Jim Allenby (capt), George Bartlett,  Ryan Davies (wkt), Johann Myburgh, Adam Hose, Eddie Byrom, Michael Leask, Ben Green, Max Waller, Dom Bess, Paul van Meekeren and Tom Banton.

To check out the scorecard, please click here.

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground