Vitality Blast Preview: Hampshire Hawks v Somerset


Somerset travel to the Ageas Bowl to play Hampshire in the Vitality Blast tomorrow (Friday).

Play will get underway at 7pm.


You can keep up to date using our dedicated Match Centre via this website and on our Twitter feed.

In addition to this, a report on the day’s play along with quotes will be posted on this website.


The two sides have faced each other 21 times in T20 cricket. Somerset have won on 12 of the matches, Hampshire have won six times, one game was tied and three matches have been abandoned.

The highest team total in the series for Somerset is 220 for four at Taunton in 2010, while for Hampshire 216 for five in the same game.

The highest individual innings for Somerset is 102 not out by Babar Azam at the Ageas Bowl in 2019, while for Hampshire it is 85 by Tom Alsop in 2009 at the same venue.

The best bowling for Somerset is five for 15 by Jerome Taylor at the Cooper Associates County Ground in 2018, while for Hampshire it is five for 17 by Liam Dawson at at the Ageas Bowl in 2016.

The last time that the two sides met at the Ageas Bowl was in August 2019 when Somerset won by 63 runs (D/L).

After being put in by the hosts, Somerset made 202 for four from their 20 overs. Babar Azam top scored with 102 not out from just 55 balls, whilst Tom Abell made 57 from 36 balls.

Hampshire had slipped to 69 for six from 12.1 overs when the rain fell. When play was halted the hosts needed to have scored 133 runs to win, thus giving Somerset the victory.


Somerset will be without Tom Banton, Craig Overton and Lewis Gregory (all on international duty) plus Tom Abell (hamstring). Max Waller will captain the side.

Head Coach, Jason Kerr has named the following squad: Max Waller, Kasey Aldridge, George Bartlett, Jack Brooks, Eddie Byrom, Devon Conway, Marchant de Lange, Lewis Goldsworthy, Ben Green, James Hildreth, Tom Lammonby, Will Smeed and Roelof van der Merwe.


Ahead of the match, Jason Kerr said: “Hampshire have always been a formidable one-day side. They haven’t been at their best this year but we certainly won’t be underestimating them.

“We’ve got a few injuries and a few changes to personnel, but that’s just one of the things that happens when you play so much cricket in a short space of time.

“The exciting thing is that we are finding ways to win games. We’ve been losing a lot of players but people have stepped up and contributed to wins. Some of those wins have been ugly but we are finding a way, which shows a real strength of character within the side.

“If we can win two of the three remaining games then we’ll be in a good place.”


For more information please visit the official Hampshire CCC website



Coach: Adi Birrell

Captain: James Vince

Last Year’s Performance: Bottom (South Group)

Leading Runscorer: James Fuller (205, 34.16)

2020 Leading Wicket Taker: Mason Crane (9, 22.00)

Overseas players: D’Arcy Short (Australia); Colin de Grandhomme (New Zealand)

Key man: James Vince – After helping Sydney Sixers win the Australian Big Bash, the Hawks skipper will be desperate to repeat that success on home soil.

Flies under the radar: Ian Holland – The American-born, Australian all-rounder has been in fine form with the bat in the LV = Insurance County Championship and is a decent but unheralded seam bowler.

Best player under 24: Tom Prest – The hugely exciting 18-year-old batsman could be given the chance to transfer his prolific 2nd XI form – where he scored a triple century last month – to the Blast.

Blast expectations: After a bitterly disappointing 2020 season that produced just two wins from 10 matches and a last-placed group finish, the newly-rebranded Hawks will be confident of a much-improved campaign as they look to win a third Blast title. Big-hitting opener Short should deliver runs at the top of the order and canny all-rounder de Grandhomme control and accuracy with the ball. With Crane, Vince, Fuller and Liam Dawson in their ranks, few teams boast a more balanced squad. If everything clicks, there’s every reason to believe the 2010 and 2012 winners will be contenders for a Finals Day spot.


Max Waller needs one wicket to become Somerset’s all time leading wicket taker in T20 cricket.


Somerset’s next match begins on Sunday July 11th when we play Surrey at the Kia Oval in the LV= Insurance County Championship.

Back to News

Next MatchLancashire V Somerset

11/07/2022 11:00 - Southport