Volunteers recognised at awards lunch

Somerset Cricket Foundation recognised volunteers from across the county for their contribution to club cricket as they celebrated the 2021 Grassroots Cricket Awards.

Over 130 people attended the event in the County Room at the Cooper Associates County Ground on Sunday, where they were formally welcomed and thanked by Jon Bendle, Managing Director of Somerset Cricket Foundation for their outstanding contribution to grassroots cricket in the county.

Rebecca Pow MP, the wife of the late Charles Clark (former Chair of Somerset County Cricket Club), also thanked the volunteers before announcing a £7000 donation to Somerset Cricket Foundation from a memorial game played in the summer at Stoke St Mary CC in Charles’s memory.

The event was compared by Spencer Bishop of Somerset County Cricket Club. He was also joined by special guests Andy Hurry (Director of Cricket at Somerset CCC) and Sophie Luff (Somerset, Western Storm and Welsh Fire).  Both professionals took part in a fascinating question & answer session which saw them speak passionately about the volunteers who inspired them.

Community Programmes Manager Steve Gass, presented on two of the flagship programmes which the Foundation run, The ‘Wellbeing Champion’ Programme and ‘Super 1’s’. Steve gave great insight to these programmes and the impact they are having before thanking several volunteers for their part in the initiatives. Steve also recognised Linda Curtis for 25 years of service to Somerset Disabled CC as club scorer.

The event finished with a presentation to Andy Curtis to recognise his outstanding contribution to cricket in Somerset following his retirement as Chair of Somerset Foundation after 13 years in post.

A huge thank you must go to all the volunteers who give their time to clubs and/or leagues, as without them cricket would not be flourishing in Somerset. Thank you for all you do!

Congratulations to those who were nominated for an award and to all our winners who are listed below:

ECB Coach Awards 2021 Winners

Young Coach of the Year- Dominique Creedy, Wembdon CC

Coach of the Year- Tom Garner, Huntspill & District CC

Outstanding Contribution, Services to Coaching- Darrell Vickery 

ECB Grassroots Cricket Awards 2021

Connecting Communities: Winners- Knowle Cricket Club

Rising Star Award: Winner – Oliver Morris, Winscombe CC

Nominees- Oliver Morris & Amelia James

Cricket Innovator: Winner – Sarah Watts, Claverham CC

Nominees- Jake Rowe, Sarah Watts & Tyler Fagan

Game Changer: Winner – Layton Hucker, Wembdon CC

Nominees- Callum Watts, Dominique Creedy, Henry Hunt, Joe Syvret, Josh Rodd, Kruz Belcher, Layton Hucker, Tilly Bond, Tom Garner & Trinity Hales

Inspired to Play: Winner – Jennie Webb, Midsomer Norton CC- Award collected by Charlotte Phillips

Nominees-  Bronwen Williams, Olivia Wilkinson, Dom Mayo, Erin Smith, Hannah Hughes, Jennie Webb, Kerry James & Lee Godfrey

Growing the Game: Winner – Phil Griffiths, Chard CC – Award collected by Richard Evans

Nominees- Kevin Messenger, Phil Griffiths & Tobias Bishop

Unsung Hero: Winner- Cris Taylor, Kilve CC

Nominees- Chris Twort, Colin Barlow, Colyn Cross, Donna Hibbert, Edgar Herridge, Emma Cox, Hajeet Awlak, John Lambert, Jon Godden, Jon Randall, Keith Tooze, Lorraine Warren, Nigel Contreras, Stuart Kearns, Cris Taylor, Tom Fowler & Warren Smith

Lifetime Achiever: Winner – Keith Woodman, Taunton Deane CC

Nominees- Amanda Counsell, David Barton, Fred Maidment, Graeme King, Jill Champion, Keith Woodman, Robert Hale, Roy Takle, Sam Vickery, Steve Vowles, Steve Windaybank, Stuart Champion, Kevin Porter, Robert Young & Tommy Acock.

Back to News

Next MatchWarwickshire V Somerset

23/08/2022 11:00 - Edgbaston