Western Storm stars included in England Ashes squad

Western Storm’s Heather Knight, Anya Shrubsole and Fran Wilson have all been included in the England Women’s squad for the Ashes tour of Australia.

The ICC Women’s World Cup champions depart for Brisbane on October 7th, where they’ll attempt to regain the Ashes across a multi-format series that takes in three one-day internationals, a Test match and three T20 internationals. In 2015 in England, Australia ran out 10-6 winners after winning two ODIs, the one-off Test match and one T20I.

The inclusion of Sophie Ecclestone is the only change from the squad that triumphed in front of a sell-out crowd at Lord’s on July 23rd.

It will be the first time that Heather Knight has led her side into an Ashes series.

The squad in full is:

Heather Knight (Captain)

Tammy Beaumont

Katherine Brunt

Sophie Ecclestone

Georgia Elwiss

Jenny Gunn

Alex Hartley

Danielle Hazell

Laura Marsh

Anya Shrubsole

Nat Sciver

Sarah Taylor

Fran Wilson 

Lauren Winfield

Danni Wyatt

Captain Heather Knight said: “Ashes tours don’t come around all too often so it’s always a special opportunity. Australia are going to be very strong opponents on their home soil so we’ll have to be at our best, across all three formats.

“Winning the World Cup was a dream come true but it doesn’t get much bigger than the Ashes. We weren’t able to win in 2015 so I know that the whole group will be intent on regaining the trophy this time round.”

England Coach Mark Robinson said: “It’s a hugely exciting tour and one we are really looking forward to. Australia on their home soil will be a further test of the progress we have made.

“We said before the World Cup that the final at Lord’s was never going to be our destination, it was just part of the journey, and that journey continues with this tour.

“Sophie Ecclestone has finished school now and has had a great summer domestically. Her selection will provide another option to our attack.”

The tour schedule is as follows:

October 22 1st ODI Brisbane – Allan Border Field 00:15 BST 2 points
October 26 2nd ODI Coffs Harbour 04:40 BST 2 points
October 29 3rd ODI Coffs Harbour 00:15 GMT 2 points
November 9-12 Only Test (d/n) Sydney – North Sydney Oval 03:30 GMT 4 points
November 17 1st Twenty20 International Sydney – North Sydney Oval 08:10 GMT 2 points
November 19 2nd Twenty20 International Canberra 03:35 GMT 2 points
November 21 3rd Twenty20 International Canberra 08:10 GMT 2 points


Back to News

Next MatchLancashire V Somerset

11/07/2022 11:00 - Southport