Bob Willis Trophy Final Preview


Somerset take on Essex at Lord’s in the final of the Bob Willis Trophy this week.

The five-day match begins at 10:30am tomorrow (Wednesday).

Somerset finished top of the Central Group with 97 points from five matches whilst Essex finished at the top of the South Group with 90 points from their five games.


You can keep up to date using our dedicated Match Centre via this website and on our Twitter feed.

Sky Sports will show the five-day Lord’s final on the Sky Sports Cricket YouTube channel, which will feature a commentary team including former England captain Michael Atherton.

The BBC will show the live stream on the BBC Sport website and BBC iPlayer in addition to providing radio commentary from its Test Match Special team on Radio 5 Live Sports Extra. Local commentary will also be available on BBC Radio Somerset and BBC Essex.

In addition to this a report on the day’s play along with quotes will be posted after the close.


Somerset and Essex have clashed on 149 occasions in First Class cricket. Somerset have won 36 of the matches, Essex have come out on top 58 times, 51 matches have been drawn, there has been one tie and three matches have been abandoned.

Somerset’s highest innings total in the series is 488 all out at Clacton in 1949, while for Essex it is 692 at Taunton in 1895.

The highest individual score for Somerset is 228 not out by Marcus Trescothick at Colchester in 2010 and for Essex it is 263 by Stuart Law in 1999 at Chelmsford.

Somerset’s best bowling is eight for 67 by Brian Langford at Ilford in 1958 and for Essex it is eight for 90 by JWHT Douglas at Colchester in 1923.

The last time the two sides met was in the rain effected County Championship decider at the Cooper Associates County Ground in September last year.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Somerset made 203. Roelof van der Merwe top scored with 60. Simon Harmer was the pick of the bowlers, claiming five for 105.

In reply, Essex were dismissed for 141 as Jack Leach took five for 32.

Somerset forfeited their second innings in a bid to force a result but by the close of play Essex were 45 for one in their second innings and the match ended in a draw which meant that the visitors claimed the First Division title.


Somerset Head Coach, Jason Kerr has named the following 13-man squad: Tom Abell (c), George Bartlett, Dom Bess, Jack Brooks, Eddie Byrom, Josh Davey, Steve Davies, Ben Green, Lewis Gregory, Tom Lammonby, Jack Leach, Craig Overton and Roelof van der Merwe.


Club Captain, Tom Abell said: “We’re all very excited about playing another final at Lord’s. We experienced an amazing day there last summer and we’re certainly looking to replicate that this week.

“Any time that you’re in with a chance of winning a trophy for Somerset it’s incredibly exciting. Especially when it’s a showpiece final like this one.

“We go into the game with good confidence given how we’ve played in red-ball cricket this year and we’re looking forward to the challenge.”

Somerset Head Coach, Jason Kerr said: “If you look at both sides, they know how to win. Essex won the Championship last year and we won the 50-over competition, so we both know how to do it. We need to draw on the experience of last year because we know that we have won at Lord’s recently and hopefully that will be advantageous.

“If we look at it statistically over the last few years, it’s been ourselves and Essex pushing for the title. Essex have won two out of the last three, so I think you’d be very hard pushed to find someone to argue against the fact that the two best teams have made it through to the final.”

“There’s a big sense of achievement in having got to the final, but we are certainly aware that is only half of the job. If we can get the result that we’re all hoping for there’s no doubt that it would have a huge impact on the South West and reinforce a lot of the good things that we’re doing here at Somerset. It would be the reward that the players, the backroom staff and all the staff who are involved with the Club deserve. Everyone across the whole Club has adapted brilliantly in incredibly adverse conditions. Winning the Bob Willis Trophy would be just reward for the amount of effort that everyone has put in just to get cricket happening this year.”


  • Only four players have scored two hundreds in the Bob Willis Trophy and two of them play for Somerset. Tom Abell and Tom Lammonby are joined in this group by Ben Duckett and Ben Slater.
  • Craig Overton has taken 28 wickets in the competition. Only two players have taken more (Darren Stevens – 29 and Simon Harmer – 34).
  • Tom Abell is Somerset’s leading run scorer in the competition with 352.
  • This is Somerset’s first ever official five-day First Class match.
  • Somerset’s seamers between them have taken 96 wickets in the Bob Willis trophy at 12.66 per wicket


The Stragglers Coffee House at the Cooper Associates County Ground will be showing the final of the Bob Willis Trophy this week.

Stragglers will open as usual at 10am but will remain open until the close of play on each day of the match.

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground