Tom named Young Cricketer of the Year at CWC annual lunch

Tom Banton scooped a prize at the annual Cricket Writers’ Club awards today.

Essex and Somerset dominated the men’s county summer, sharing three trophies between them, and it should come as no surprise that a player from each was honoured in the awards made at the 2019 Cricket Writers’ Club annual lunch.

Tom, who is set to feature on his first England tour after being selected for five T20Is in New Zealand, was named the CWC Young Cricketer of the Year after a breakthrough season.

This prestigious award has been presented every year since the CWC was first formed back in 1950 and previous winners include a large number of players who have gone onto make their names on the international arena. Among the first winners were Peter May, Fred Trueman, Colin Cowdrey, while later recipients include Ian Botham, David Gower, Michael Atherton and Mark Lathwell.

Among those currently playing cricket James Anderson, Ian Bell, Alastair Cook, Stuart Broad, Joe Root and Ben Stokes have all been past winners.

After receiving the award the 20-year-old said: “To be named as the Cricket Writers Young Cricketer of the Year is a great way to end what has been a very successful year for me.

“Back in March if anybody had told me that I was going to have the sort of season I’ve had then I’m sure I would have bitten their arm off.

“I feel very lucky and honoured to have won this award and I’ll be hoping to follow in the footsteps of the many illustrious players who have gone before me.”

Simon Harmer, meanwhile, won the County Championship Player of the Year award, in association with William Hill, after spearheading Essex’s second title in three years.

Middlesex’s Beth Morgan was the recipient of the CWC’s Women’s Cricket Award, in recognition of a record-breaking career that saw the former England international become the only player to feature in every season of the Women’s One-Day County Championship.

The Lord’s Taverners Disability Cricketer of the Year was named as Callum Flynn, after the allrounder’s starring role for England during the summer’s Physical Disability World Series.

Away from the playing field, author and publisher Stephen Chalke was honoured with the Peter Smith Award for “services to the presentation of cricket to the public”, in light of his extraordinary contribution to documenting the history of post-war cricket in England.

The CWC Book of the Year went to ‘Steve Smith’s Men’ (Hardie Grant) by Geoff Lemon.

All the awards were presented at the club’s annual lunch at the Marriott Grosvenor Square in London on Tuesday.

CWC Chair Alison Mitchell said: “All of our winners have excelled at what they do, and we congratulate them on their achievements. CWC is grateful for the continued support of our sponsors – William Hill, Lord’s Taverners and Fullers’ Brewery – who continue to help make these awards possible, recognising the very best among those who play the game and those who document it.

“The annual lunch is always eagerly anticipated by our members, none more so than in 2019, where the volume and quality of cricket coverage produced across all mediums has been stupendous. We’ve had an extraordinary season to look back on, including closely fought men’s and women’s domestic competitions and of course, the first ever ICC Men’s World Cup win for England.”

Back to News

Next MatchSomerset V Derbyshire Falcons

09/07/2022 19:00 - The Cooper Associates County Ground